Ratification of Maryam Nawaz’s Nomination Papers For Election 2018


The nomination papers of Maryam Nawaz, who is the daughter of former exiled Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, has been approved and she has a clear way to participate in elections competition from Lahore NA-125. The decision was taken by Mr. Asif Bashir, Returning Officer (RO) who accept her papers. He dismisses all objections that arise in the course of scrutiny regarding her nomination papers. Maryam Nawaz is now allowed to contest from her constituency of Lahore NA 125, and NA 127 in the general elections 2018. She will take part in the contest from the ticket of PML(N).

Panama Papers Verdict Supreme Court Disqualified Prime Minister

Nomination Papers of Maryam Nawaz

The NA-125 electorate, located in the heart of Lahore. Moreover, besides, it was the NA-120 constituency earlier than the new delimitation of areas. NA-120 was bagged by former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in the 2013 elections in addition, next to his ineligibility, by his wife Kulsoom Nawaz; whereas, she did not take part in the crusade herself. Maryam had led the NA-120 by-election campaign for her mother in 2017 following Nawaz’s disqualification. At the time, Kulsoom had defeated Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Dr. Yasmin Rashid by over 14,000 votes.

Panama Case Decision Announcement 2017

Dr Rashid & Maryam Nawaz

At present, nomination papers of Dr. Rashid for the approval in the electorate has been permitted. Dr. Rashid submitted 21 objections to the nomination papers of Maryam Nawaz. Maryam, accompanied by her father and husband, fronting a sleaze orientation in the accountability court of Islamabad. The court is working in the light of the Supreme Court’s verdict for Panama Papers case last year. At present, Maryam is in London to look after her ailing mother that has been caught in a heart attack in the UK. She is there since August 2017 after making a diagnosis of throat cancer.

Panama Case Decision Announcement 2017

Inquiry of Further Candidates

Furthermore, for the period of scrutiny of nomination papers through the country, the nomination papers of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)’s Shahla Raza, PML(N) Abid Sher Ali, and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM)’s Rauf Siddiqui with Kamran Tessori has also approved.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.